Champions of Diversity 2018 at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, January 12

Date: January 12, 2018

Time: 5:30 pm

On January 12, 2018 the Indiana Minority Business Magazine (IMBM) will recognize 13 honorees as Champions of Diversity. This distinguished group includes businesses, organizations and individuals that have shown incredible efforts in the areas of diversity and inclusion.

This year’s recipients will be honored during the 13th annual Champions of Diversity Awards Dinner on January 12, 2018 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel, downtown Indianapolis 1 S. Capitol Ave. The event will begin with a networking reception at 5:30 p.m. followed by dinner at 6:30 p.m. with the awards program to begin immediately after. Due to its vibrant nature, the Champions of Diversity Awards Dinner has been consistently sold out, or nearly sold out, each year. In addition to honoring many noble professionals and entities the event attracts business leaders, dignitaries and innovators from across the state. The dinner is also followed by a “red-carpet” style after party.

“According to statistics from the National Census, Indiana is ranked 42 out of 50 states in the area of overall diversity,” said IMBM President Shannon Williams. “Faced by this reality, our honorees work tirelessly to disrupt the norm by implementing practices that highlight diversity and inclusion and uplift the underrepresented. Our honorees have become true champions of change. Their efforts must be recognized.”

Each honoree will be acknowledged as a Champion of Diversity with three being recognized with a more distinguished award to honor their superior accomplishments. These awards are the Rosa Parks Trailblazer Award, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Freedom Award and the William G. Mays Excellence in Entrepreneurship Award.

Below are the 2018 Champions of Diversity Award recipients:

  • AIS (Apex Infinite Solutions) – William G. Mays Excellence in Entrepreneurship Award
  • Central Indiana Community Foundation (CICF)
  • Citizens Energy Group
  • Antoine (Tony) Ezell – Eli Lilly, Elanco
  • Financial Health Federal Credit Union (FHFCU)
  • Judge Geoffrey Gaither – Juvenile Division of Marion County Superior Court
  • Danette Garza – Jack Gray Transport
  • Indiana Grand Racing and Casino
  • Indiana Undocumented Youth Alliance – Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Freedom Award
  • Peace Learning Center
  • Dawn Rosemond – Barnes & Thornburg LLP
  • Salesforce – Rosa Parks Trailblazer Award
  • Dr. Nichole Wilson – Community Health Network


Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
1 South Capitol Avenue
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Contact: (317) 762-7854



Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial